110% Makes Sense

IMG_1092

Most people know the saying, “Give 110%,” wither that was coming from your coach, boss, or even your parents.  Almost everyone has had this expression yelled at them from “across the field.”  For me though, it always just made me upset.  “How can I give 110% out of 100?  That is impossible! You are expecting too much out of me,” is what I would say to myself.  If your mindset is more on the logical, mathematical side, like mine, you have probably thought the same things.  They never knew what they were talking about… or maybe they did.  Here lately, that saying has started to make sense to me.

Before I explain why this makes sense, allow me to explain why this expression would even come back up in my life.  I have had it in my mind to start running for my sport.  My idea was to just do stuff like charity runs, but some of my friends have talked me into running a Spartan race.  These races are the normal race distances, but they throw obstacles in the middle of the race.  If you are not able to complete the obstacle, you have to do 30 burpees.  These races, from looks, are pretty much like military training.  There are 3 main levels; a sprint (5k), a super (10k), and a beast (half marathon).  Take note that I have not worked out for endurance in over four years…  So, we are planning on doing the sprint in 5 months.  That would have been easy to get ready for, BUT someone talked me into doing the beast… in 9 weeks…  So, to get ready for this, it is going to take more than what I have, but how do I do that if all I have is 100%?

110% started making sense in an athletic sense, while I was actually in a church building.   This past Sunday, the pastor was giving the normal spill about tithe.  How we should give our first 10% to God, and it got me thinking… What would happen if we started giving the first 10% of everything to God and not just our money?  What would our days start looking like if we gave the first 10% of our day to God?   What would our vacations look like if we gave our first 10% of the road trip to worshiping God in the car?  What if we gave the first 10% of our energy in a sports event as dedication to God before dedication to our sport?  Let’s just think about that for a moment, and let that concept sink in.

“But Trevor, that would still leave us with only 90%.”  Yes, this is true with money, but let’s look at this a different way.  Giving 10% of yourself to God before a game would be a mental and spiritual act.  This is not a physical act, unless you set up a worship set and worship to God for 30 minutes before the game.  So, seeing that giving 10% to God in a game is mental and spiritual but actually playing the game is physical.  These things would all be linked into playing the game, but they would not directly affect each other.  Therefore, you can give 10% to God and still give 100% physically to the game.  If you add those, they equal 110%.  This is when 110% made sense to me.  It actually is not a deep concept, but if we start putting this into practice, it can take our whole lives deeper in relationship with God.  Who would say no to that?  Heck, with this concept, you can even give 200% of yourselves to whatever you are doing at that time.

“Okay Trevor, that makes sense, but it is still too much effort for me to do that.”  Did you know that God actually has given us permission to test Him in an area of life?  Guess what area that might be.  Yep, in the area of giving 10%.  In Malachi 3:10 it says, “Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. ‘Test me in this,’ says the Lord Almighty, ‘and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will not be room enough to store it.’”  So, I want to challenge you to try doing this.  You won’t be alone, because I will definitely be doing this with you in preparation for my race.  It is the only way I will be able to finish the race that as been set before me.   What do you say guys?  Let’s start seeing God open up the heavens over all areas of our lives.  10%, or let’s just say 110%, leads to an overflowing storehouse.  What is there to loose?  If you don’t believe me, test Him.

Hope my process helps you with yours.

Trev

Leave a Reply

