Why Wait?

IMG_1465

By the title, you will probably think that I am about to say, “Stop waiting around and just go for it!”  That is not what this one is about.  I know, sorry to get your hopes up, but we all know that is what we all want to hear because it is easy.  A lot of times we enjoy hearing a way that makes it easier.  The problem I see with that is, easy is comfortable, and comfortable, a lot of the times, leads to a state of being stagnant.  Being stagnant just stinks.  If you don’t believe me, then Google the meaning of that word.

I am currently in the season of waiting for the next thing to come my way, and I have a feeling that a lot of people may know that feeling.  Before I move on, let me get this out there now.  Even though a home cooked meal is better than a microwavable meal, I am not going to shove that “microwave generation” crap down your throat.  I know you are tired of hearing that, and quite frankly, so am I.  Actually, I think God even likes that side of us, because when we pray for healing, we will expect it immediately.  Maybe the saying, “Maybe it’s not God’s timing,” is just an excuse to cover our lack of faith.  BUT, that is a harsh side note.  The real point of this post is to come to terms with the fact that a season of waiting is perfectly okay.

Waiting sucks! Trust me, you are not alone when you have that thought.  You may feel like you are being left behind when you are being forced to wait.  “I feel alone when everyone is going everywhere, but I have to stay in Memphis.”  I have actually heard people say this to some extent.  To the athletes out there, you may feel like you are in a slump.  I know the feeling of exhaustion while waiting for that next hit or 3 pointer.  By the way, I was a center in basketball, so that slump lasted a LONG time.  On a side note, the saying, “I can’t wait,” does you no good.  I have had many times where I regretted not enjoying the place I was in because I “couldn’t wait” for the next thing to come.

There are 3 things that come to my mind that might help you to stay motivated while you are in the process of waiting.

1. For a baby to grow to its full potential, he/she should spend nearly his first year of his life in another person’s belly.  Think about that for a second.  No one, in their right mind, would ever want to go back and do that again, but this is so vital to every person’s life.  We had to wait 9 months just to see light or to breathe.  Think what could happen if that baby was born premature…  Possible birth defects, possibly a slower start to life, or possibly even death.  No one wants that.  Please, do not prematurely give birth to a new season of life that is not ready.  No one wants to walk into a new career without the right tools.  Maybe an earlier start date means a slower beginning.  I don’t want to see someone’s purpose come to an end, because that person did not have patience to fulfill the season at hand.

2. During a drought, it often looks like the trees are losing life or at least drying up.  That is a valid observation, but a drought is good.  It is good because of something we don’t see during this drought.  We do not see this because it is underground.  You see, a tree’s roots grow towards the water.  When there is an abundance of rain, the roots stay near the surface.  BUT when there is a lack of rain, the trees have to search for water.  How do they do this?  They grow down!  Trevor, why is that exciting?  This is so exciting, because when the roots are deep, the tree is STRONG.  The tree forms a FIRM foundation!  Maybe we need to stop praying for the rain and start praising God for the foundation that is being formed!

3. Have you ever wanted to fly like an eagle?  Wouldn’t that be amazing?  To soar through the sky, with so much strength, like no one could stop you.  Well, there is one more thing I would like to share with you.  Isaiah 40:31 says, “But those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.” (NKJV) This gives the answer to the feelings we have while we wait.  While waiting, I often feel weak and tired to the point of fainting or giving up.  The crazy thing about that is, the cure to the feelings of waiting is to wait.  “OH COME ON!”  I know, it is a hard truth to hear.  Play through things people often say though.  “I want to go to this place I like.” “I want to go where everyone else is going.”  Those sayings are not only common in most people’s lives, but it was very common in my life.  There is a major problem.  We are leaving God out of it.  Kim Walker sings, “Where You go, I’ll go. Where You stay, I’ll stay.”  That needs to be our prayer and our saying for now on.  Then, that verse will bring so much peace and excitement.  When we wait on the Lord to speak or move, then and only then do we stay in His will.  It is so comforting to know that the Creator of not only the universe but also you and me is controlling the next season in our lives.  What do you say?  Let’s wait, because waiting leads to a more peaceful, fulfilled life.

Hope my process helps you with yours.

Trev

2 thoughts on “Why Wait?

  1. This is so well written with such passion and articulation…..Trev, thanks for sharing this because it’s really exactly what I needed to hear.

    -M

  2. Wait! One of the hardest concepts or commands in the world to follow. Sounds to our natural minds whole lot like doing nothing, but I have found it to be possibly the most active form of obedience I have ever experienced. Thank you so much for the encouragement and reminder.

Leave a Reply

